APC wins all chairmanship and councillorship positions in Nasarawa LG elections

The All Progressives Congress (APC) won the local government council elections in Nasarawa State on Wednesday.

Mr Ayuba Wandai, Chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission, made the announcement on Thursday in Lafia.

Wandai stated that the APC candidates for chairmanship and councillorship positions were victorious in all 13 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the State.

“In this regard, and in accordance with the authority vested in me as Chairman of the Commission and Chief Electoral Officer of the State,” he said.

“I hereby declare APC candidates in all 13 LGAs as winners and return them elected.”

Read Also:  2023: APC will not give a presidential ticket to the Southeast, and the Igbos are not united – Yakasai

“The APC candidates are hereby returned elected to the councillorship positions of the 147 electoral wards.”

“It is on record that seven political parties participated in the exercise,” he said, naming ADC, APC, LP, NNPP, PDP, SDP, and ZLP.

According to reports from the field, the election was peacefully conducted throughout the State, with the exception of a delay in the distribution of election materials in some parts of the State, which he blamed on logistical issues.

“So far, NASIEC has successfully conducted elections that can best be described as free, fair, and credible, in accordance with the state’s electoral law,” he said.

 485 total views,  1 views today